HONG KONG ASSOCIATION OF THE HEADS OF SECONDARY SCHOOLS 香港中學校長會



Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2016

Date: 7 December 2016

Time : 9:00a.m.

Venue : The CityView, 23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Chairman of AGM : Ms. Lee Suet Ying

Minutes taken by : Ms. Pang Wai Lan, Helena

Number of members present: 138

1. Confirmation of Minutes of Last AGM

• The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 2 December 2015 was confirmed and adopted.

2. Matters Arising.

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

3. The Chairman's report

- The Chairman welcomed members and guests to the AGM. A special welcome was extended to all new principals.
- The Chairman's report was printed and delivered to each member (Appendix 1). Ms. Lee Suet Ying thanked the members for their full support and the comrades in the Executive Committee as well as the various task groups for their hard work and companionship in the previous year.
- The Chairman expressed her deepest gratitude to Mr. Wong Wai Yu Michael, the Hon. Executive Secretary and Mrs. Lee Shek Yuk Yu Ruth, the Hon. Resource Adviser for their invaluable professional support and practical assistance to the HKAHSS.
- The Chairman reported on the activities of the Association for the year 2015-2016. They included the SRL Festival, CPD programmes, Happy Hour Forums, Sunshine Calls and Tea Gathering for Newly-appointed principals, Retreat 2016, Annual Conference, the studies and reviews (which include Hong Kong Education: needs, gaps and future development, revised structure of the Council on Professional Conduct in Education, Chinese History education, STEM education, Basic Law education) done by the Research and Development Task Group as well as the Curriculum Review and Development Task Group, the building up of a Resources Corner, and the

- revamping of the Website.
- Ms. Lee highlighted that the year of 2015-2016 was again another productive one in terms of numerous papers, letters and statements released or sent to government bodies and the two press conferences held in September and October 2016.
- Ms. Lee specially thanked Mr. Lau Kar Wah for serving as our Hon. Legal Adviser in the past years, and Mr. Chan King Tat, Principal of Pok Oi Hospital Tang Pui King Memorial College, for serving as our Honorary Auditor in the year 2015-2016.
- Principal Ho Yim Ching Jane proposed to receive and adopt the Chairman's report and Principal Lui Suet Wan seconded the motion. Approved unanimously.

4. Honorary Treasurer's Report

- The Financial Statements of the Association for the year 2015-2016 as at 31 October 2016(Appendix 2) were presented.
- Ms. Lau Yiu Hung, the Hon. Treasurer, stated that the financial status of the Association was healthy as the Association adopts a very prudent and cautious manner in financial management.
- Adoption of the Financial Statements was proposed by Principal Tse Yun
 Ming and seconded by Principal Au Yeung Ka Keung. Approved unanimously.
- 5. Appointment of the Hon. Executive Secretary, Hon. Resources Adviser, Hon. Legal Adviser and Hon. Auditor
 - The Chairman commended Mr. Wong Wai Yu Michael as the Honorary Executive Secretary, Ms. Lee Shek Yuk Yu Ruth as the Honorary Resources Adviser, Mr. Lau Kar Wah as the Honorary Legal Adviser and Mr. Chan King Tat as the Honorary Auditor for the Association in the year 2015-2016.
 - Mr. Michael Wong Wai Yu was re-appointed as the Honorary Executive Secretary for the Association for 2 years, 2016-2018. Mrs. Ruth Lee was re-appointed as the Honorary Resources Advisor for the Association, Mr. Lau Kar Wah as the Honorary Legal Adviser and Mr. Chan King Tat as the Honorary Auditor for the year 2016-2017. The resolution was carried unanimously.

6. Election of three members to the Executive Committee

- The Honorary Secretary, Ms. Veronica Yau, explained the procedure for the election. Executive Committee Members are elected for a three-year term.
 Due to the expiry of tenure, there were three out-going Executive Members:
 Ms. Lee Suet Ying, Mr. Chau Hau Fung, Mrs. Cheung Cheung Wai Yee Addy.
- Their replacements would be elected from the following nominees:

Ms. Chan Shin Kwan

Ms. Lee Suet Ying

Mr. Chau Hau Fung

Mr. Lin Chun Pong

- Election by ballots was carried out and Principal Lui Suet Wan, Principal Ho
 Yim Ching Jane and Principal Chim Yin Chu helped monitor the counting of ballot papers.
- Ms. Yau announced that 122 ballot papers, including 1 blank and 1 void, were received. The following nominees were elected:

Ms. Lee Suet Ying

Mr. Chau Hau Fung

Mr. Lin Chun Pong

7. A.O.B

• There being no other business, the Chairman closed the meeting at 9:50 a.m.

Chairman: Secretary:

Date: 20th December 2016 Date: 20th December 2016